Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,445   Posts: 1,570,011   Online: 860

Shooter
    Pinhole
    Blog Entries
    Images

1st testing attempt: preferable use of lford FP4+ in developer Id-11 ???

Hi,
    I used to shoot (mostly) Kodak Tri-X and Agfa Scala, but want to try an other film now: Ilford FP4+.

I'm new to Ilford FP4+ film and ID-11 developer. I want to test this combination (I'm going to test this film in Ilfosol 3, LC29 and Rodinal later).
    I'll rate the film at 125 ISO and will shoot 3 rolls of 135 film at once (same subject & same settings) with my Leica M7 and a 35 mm Summicron lens
    for my preliminary testing. When I decide what developer I seem to like best, I'll test 10 additional rolls of 120 roll film in my Bronica SQ-B and my Bronica RF in this developer.

My starting point for ID-11 is the "Massive Dev Chart" from Digital Truth.
    See: http://www.digitaltruth.com/devchart...-11&mdc=Search
    The site gives me three options:
    1) FP4+ @ ISO 125 in ID-11: stock solution = 8.5 minutes at 20C
    2) FP4+ @ ISO 125 in ID-11: 1+1 solution = 11 minutes at 20C
    3) FP4+ @ ISO 125 in ID-11: 1+3 solution = 20 minutes at 20C

- Can someone tell me what his experiences are with FP4+ in ID-11?
    - What will the differences be between these 3 options on Digital Thruth?
    - And what about inversion?
    - Do you have a better solution/experience for me to share?

Thanks,
    Bert from Holland
    Last edited by TheToadMen; 03-12-2013 at 07:14 PM. Click to view previous post history.
    "Have fun and catch that light beam!"
    Bert from Holland
    my blog: http://thetoadmen.blogspot.nl
    my Linkedin pinhole group: http://tinyurl.com/pinholegroup

* I'm an analogue enthusiast, trying not to fall into the digital abyss.