Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,963   Posts: 1,523,207   Online: 828

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Cherry angioma, is the body Detoxing

Before you read on be aware that i'm just collecting information, and came across this by chance. I'm not an expert in this field medical/chemical and so i'm just here to see if there is anything i might learn.

http://www.cheeseslave.com/cherry-an...bromide-detox/

My question is, since there are several of us, experimenting with different chemicals, is there a larger number of darkroom workers who might have cherry angiomas from the body trying to detox?
    might be a silly question, but i'm just wondering.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Potassium/sodium bromide has been used for many, many years as a calmative and sleep inducer. It was an ingredient in many patent medicines such as Bromo-Seltzer and Bromo-Quinine cold tablets. People routinely ingested moderate amounts of it over many years with no ill effects. The use of bromides was discontinued in human medicine in 1975 due to the difficulty in determining proper dosage. They are still used in veterinary medicine. Neither of these two compounds is absorbed thru the skin so there is no danger in dermal contact from this source. Iodides are used in such low concentration in photography that they pose no threat.

As far as cherry angiomas are concerned I know people who have had them who have never been exposed to photographic solutions. Doctors really do not what cause them. There may be a genetic predisposition toward their formation. There are a lot of alarmist or quack sites on the internet. If you are concerned consult a dermatologist.