Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,926   Posts: 1,522,135   Online: 891

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Acros 100 pushed to 400

Has anyone tried this? I have to cover a family lunch tomorow. I would normally take my Leica Minilux, but it has Acros 100 in it which I had started using at 400 ASA to see how it looked pushed. Problem is that I've never done this before and don't know how it will work out. I can take another camera, but would use the Minilux if the results are likely to be ok. I don't want to rewind the Acros and substitute another film. I would just change camera as the easier option. Any advice/experience would be appreciated. Alex

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Take another camera and some TMY2 (good for 800 trivially, 1600 if you have quite flat light and don't mind contrasty images).

Acros doesn't get anywhere near 400 really; 200 is a struggle. Pushing is not one of its strengths.

Shooter
    35mm
    Thanks. I have a Nikon N75 which is quite discreet for an SLR and Delta 400 I can use. I'll be using flash, so 400 should be enough. I'm now thinking I should finish the Acros already loaded at 100ASA.

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    You're not pushing it. You're merely underexposing it and lopping off most of the shadow values. You can overdevelop to keep texture in the
    midtones and highlights, but those shadows will be just plain gone, i.e., blocked up unless it's a very low contrast setting to begin with.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Another vote for a different camera and some 400 speed film if thats an option. Acros is a gorgeous film at 80-100 but not a good candidate to push.
    -----------------------

"Well, my photos are actually much better than they look..."

Richard S.
    Albany, CA (San Francisco bay area)

My Flickr River of photographs