Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,220   Posts: 1,532,307   Online: 893

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

illford rapid fixer..... has turned

I am starting to feel like I only post with weird problems. but.

Went to develop some film tonight, noticed this:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	13717967706290.jpg 
Views:	88 
Size:	115.0 KB 
ID:	70583

Happened overnight - went from clear to this. Batch of fix is about 30 rolls in. I know, I should store in a glass bottle, one shot the fix, etc. etc. but I have been reusing it for 10 years.

Why did it turn black?
    steve barry
    my stuff

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Can you give us a bit more details about this black liquid? Is it a suspension of particles (possibly Silver?), or did some soluble dye form? Do you have any means of measuring/estimating pH of this?
    Trying to be the best of whatever I am, even if what I am is no good.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    but I have been reusing it for 10 years
    heck! Ilford aren't going to get rich from you!. No idea why it has suddenly turned, but I think the best way to use fixer is to keep it neat, make up working strength to the quantity you need = 1l or so, then keep track of what you have used it for combined with "clip test". When the fixer clearing time reaches twice what it was when you started, discard and make a new batch of working solution. I find my monitored capacity is a little under what Ilford suggest, but there again at twice clear time from fresh, there probably is still some capacity left. Fixer isn't so expensive that I am tempted to stretch it to the very last sheet.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by stevebarry View Post
    I am starting to feel like I only post with weird problems. but.