Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,943   Posts: 1,557,690   Online: 1188

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Adjusting film development

I'm using PanF+ and developing in rollo pyro. Unfortunately, I haven't found a recommended time for this combo. I went with 7 min as a decent guess based on the book of pyro and times for pmk. I develop Delta 100 at 8min and I'm good there. I'm new to enlarging and just had my first session with contrast filters. To get the look I liked, I had to use a #5.
    Say I wanted the whole roll of film to have that level of contrast. Is there an adjustment I could do during film development?(longer, shorter). It stains so much differently (less) than the delta so it's hard (for me) to judge.
    I will be using more filtration when taking the photos and do some tests there.
    Or is it just better to do the contrast while making the print?
    Thanks for the help!
    Scott

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Scott,

To get more contrast out of the negative, you develop your film longer. This is one of the basic controls of photography you should learn, because it comes in handy as you shoot in different lighting situations.

If you have to print at Grade 5 to get what you want, and want to get down to something like Grade 2-3 instead, start by increasing your development time about 30%. See how that works. Do a test roll, so you don't muck up something important.

It is not a good idea to go by visual inspection to judge whether you negatives will print well or not. That is something you learn with time.

Good luck!
    "Often moments come looking for us". - Robert Frank

"Make good art!" - Neil Gaiman

"...the heart and mind are the true lens of the camera". - Yousuf Karsh

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Thanks Thomas. I appreciate the help. Ok, I'll take it up to 9 mins on a test roll.