Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,445   Posts: 1,570,016   Online: 880

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

B/w chemistry - small sizes.

Hi, I am just getting into b/w developing myself, have a camera club buddy who can get me some equipment for free.

The Ilfotol - is this only in 1L bottles? The dilution is 1+200. That woudl be heaps despite the 3yr shelf life....

The fixer can still be had for 500ml right? I have been told that maybe Ilford Rapid Fixer does 5L now only. Not sure if that is here in New Zealand. I read up on B&H and Kodak's fixer is only in 1 Gallon or near 4L sizes? That's powder and mixed to that size. Their professional Rapid fixer seems to be a similar size.

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Within reason fixer doesn't go off, it just gets exhauseted from usage. Developer concentrate lasts quite a while (3+ months), but it will start to go brown; unless you have a vertical slot processor with a floating lids it only lasts about a day mixed up. Stop bath etc all seem to last forever. If you can start with standard Ilford liquid and evolve from there.

Shooter
    35mm
    Quote Originally Posted by jamespierce View Post
    Within reason fixer doesn't go off, it just gets exhauseted from usage. Developer concentrate lasts quite a while (3+ months), but it will start to go brown; unless you have a vertical slot processor with a floating lids it only lasts about a day mixed up. Stop bath etc all seem to last forever. If you can start with standard Ilford liquid and evolve from there.
    Thanks. I have been reading Ilford's data sheets. Their powder developer stocks after mixed last 6 months in full bottles. Stop is 5yr, plenty. Fix is said 6 months and Rinser is 3yrs.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images