Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,012   Posts: 1,524,700   Online: 816

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

Anyone use double weight RC paper?

Ilford offers a double weight RC paper that looks interesting. Does anyone have any experience with this paper? I've been getting good results with RC paper and am mulling over a switch to fiber paper but don't know if it's worth the extra cost and effort. Is double weight RC paper a viable alternative, or is there no substitute for fiber paper?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Ilford Portfolio is my preferred RC paper, but it's even dearer that their FB paper. I have no experience with the new version of this paper which was released two years ago.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    The Ilford Postcard paper is on the double weight Portfolio stock. If you join in the APUG Postcard exchanges you will get to see how it holds up to the rigours of the postal system.

The heavier paper is nice to work with, and more durable if the prints are going to be handles a lot. Otherwise, the regular Ilford RC paper is of similar, very high quality.
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Shooter
    35mm
    The double weight RC paper is almost the same price as FB paper so there is no competition really except it takes a lot less washing afterwards

Shooter
    Medium Format
    That sounds good, I think I'll give it a try.

the villages .centralflorida,USA and Germany
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images