Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,516   Posts: 1,572,149   Online: 1030

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Reversal of Ilford films, also reversal in general

Hello everyone,

After quite a lot of head scratching and creative use of household goods, I've managed to obtain everything I need to reversal process some films.

I plan to go by what Ilford says in their datasheet on reversal processing (here: http://www.ilfordphoto.com/download....1220441194.pdf) however since i'm still new to home development, I could do with some pointers.

1 - The datasheet says that Ilford Bromophen, or Ilford PQ Universal should be used for developing. I only have Microphen, would it be OK to use this?

2 - The bleach solution requires dilute sulphuric acid, I've managed to get some 97% stuff with a "metal inhibitor" in it. Will this be OK to use when diluted down with water (Acid into the water, not the other way around)?

3 - Im using a Poly-Max daylight tank from the 50s, it's great because it supports pretty much every film I've come across, but it has a stainless steel spring to hold the spirals apart. Could this be damaged by the acid bleaching step?

4 - When re-exposing the film to light to fog the film, the datasheet says that the film has to be removed from the spiral to do so. Once this has been carried out, should I re-develop it in a shallow tray, or am I OK leaving it in a dark cupboard to dry, then stick back onto my spiral (I only have 1). I should mention my spiral is made of a clear perspex, so do I need to remove it at all?

Sorry for asking so many questions, but I'd rather be on the safe side and ask for help from much better photographers than me.

Thanks for any help or advice

Mike

Shooter
    35mm
    It's a while since I did any B&W reversal, but would suggest: