Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,010   Posts: 1,524,614   Online: 1041

Shooter
    Multi Format

Ultrafine Fiber Paper users?

Hey everyone,

I just decided to pick up a box of this stuff, seeing as how I'm a broke photo student who's just sick of printing on RC. We've got the ability to work with Fiber, but I was wondering how this compares to Ilford Fiber papers. I'm not expecting the same results, but certainly somewhat better than the quality I'm getting with RC. If any of you have any scans of prints, please post them, I'd love to get a better idea of what this paper looks like!

Thanks!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    You won't be able to tell much from a scan what the paper looks like, because of how it's processed, etc.

I have heard from others that the paper is inconsistent from box to box. But that may or may not matter depending on whether you need to reprint stuff later down the road or not.

That's all I know. I haven't tried it myself.
    "Often moments come looking for us". - Robert Frank

"Make good art!" - Neil Gaiman

"...the heart and mind are the true lens of the camera". - Yousuf Karsh

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I have not had a chance to try Ultrafine's Fiber paper yet but (although it doesn't apply to this all that much...) I can say that they RC is outstanding!!
    Helping to save analog photography one exposure at a time

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    I've used it and had good results. The only problem that I've run into was one box was supposed to be matte and turned out to be glossy. Photo Warehouse made it right. The offered to replace it and gave me the option of keeping the glossy for half price, which I did. There was an emulsion speed difference between the two, but that was no issue for me. Developed in Dektol, it provides a slightly warm image, which I prefer.

Shooter