Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,770   Posts: 1,484,250   Online: 1096

Thread: C-41 first time

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

C-41 first time

Wow, talk about stressful. Laostyle17 and I did C-41 for the first time! We had 4 rolls that he shot and I messed up and ruined 1 of them. The 2nd came out with some errors, but 3 and 4 looked real nice. CATLAB's instructions were all in liters but my equipment was in quarts so we had to revise the ratios and go with it. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. I am a complete color beginner and highly recommend his kit. The Phototherm worked like a champ. It kept chemicals at the right temp for over an hour. I think we did the bleach for too short time and the Portra turned out a little blue. Laosytly17 ought to be able to fix that in post. Other than that, it was good. I think I'm ready for more c41 processing. Boy, this will save a lot of money. $2 instead of $15-20. I can do my own scanning for that. It took a long time because we were mixing the chemicals and waiting for them to get up to 101f. Next time they will be ready and waiting to go so it will be a lot faster.

It was a lot of fun and will only get easier. I have a whole pile of color film waiting for this. Thank you, Omer.
    Last edited by pbromaghin; 12-30-2013 at 01:27 AM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: spelling
    A politician is a man who will double cross that bridge when he comes to it.

Oscar Levant

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Way to go! Now on to E-6!

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Good to hear of your success.
    I am using the Rollei Digibase on 120 film,
    It takes me about 3 ~4 months to accumulate enough (8 ~ 12) rolls for a batch development session.
    So with two of you, you should get results more frequently.

Shooter
    Multi Format