Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,283   Posts: 1,534,991   Online: 1006

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

What's the problem with these shots?

Sent 2 rolls of Ilford Pan F 50 to a lab to be developed and scan and the photos came out without much contrast and just looked very grey.

What went wrong?

I'm very new to film so if some of you could enlighten me that would be great.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 08.jpg   30.jpg  

Shooter
    35mm
    They look underexposed to me.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    You scanned or they did?
    Either way, it's a bad scan.
    The black point (ie the blackest part of the image) needs to be set a lot lower (blacker).
    Ditto the white point, needs to be set a lot higher (whiter).
    Then the rest of the tones will fall in between black and white, not between grey and greyer as they are now.
    An awful lot of electrons were terribly inconvenienced in the making of this post.

Shooter
    35mm
    They scanned it.

The rest of the rolls are equally greyish, underexposed or not.

Thanks Dr Croubie, might take the negatives elsewhere to be scanned.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    You can easily see if the negs are OK, just hold them up to the light. If they look as greyish and dull as these scans, then there's something wrong with the negs. But if you can easily see dark bits and light bits in the negative, then yeah, it's a scanning problem.

(ps, I like the tree in the temple one, should look great when it's scanned/printed properly)
    An awful lot of electrons were terribly inconvenienced in the making of this post.

Shooter
    Multi Format