Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,685   Posts: 1,548,551   Online: 1200

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm RF

Test for D-76 and Kodak Fixer?

So, I'm new to the darkroom and to this point have only developed two rolls of film. However, I was wondering if there is a way to test your D-76 and your fixer before you go to develop a roll of film. I made a gallon of each and see myself developing film once a month. I would hate to ruin a roll, because either my developer or my fix went bad and I didn't know it beforehand.

Please excuse me if this is one of those questions that is asked and answered hundreds of times a week. I'm on my phone and search doesn't seem to be working quite right.

Thanks in advance. APUG rules.

Ryan

My only real keeper from my first roll of self developed film:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ira-662x441.jpg 
Views:	40 
Size:	62.9 KB 
ID:	83619
    A camera guy wishing he was a photographer.

www.ryancochran.me

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    you can test the fixer by simply clipping off a bit of film, like the leader from a 35mm roll, and dropping it into the fixer. Keep track of how much time it takes for the scrap of film to clear.

You can do a similar thing with D76 but, it isn't really necessary (the film turns black however). D76 changes color when it has gone bad.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    I should have said this before... but, I use a Rondinax to develop the film. After the development process, I throw out the D-76 that I use and pour the fixer back in my own gallon container to use another time. So afterwards, I'm left with one gallon of fixer and less than a gallon of D-76 if that makes sense.

So, how long does D-76 typically last when in a less than full gallon container? Fixer?
    A camera guy wishing he was a photographer.

www.ryancochran.me

Shooter
    Large Format