Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,952   Posts: 1,557,964   Online: 1034

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

HC110 vs Rodinal: Help?

These are two identical shots, using the same camera, on the same film, with the same exposure. The only difference is one is developed in HC110B and the other in Rodinal 1:50

I am a newbie at anything other than HC110, so it's a bit frustrating to have to start all over with getting used to a new dev. I wanted something with a bit more "bite" so I tried Rodinal. I think it's obvious which was which.

Question is: Is this what I should be expecting? It looks to me not any sharper, just with more prominent grain. Any advice much appreciated!

Kodak Tri-X (400TX)
    HC110B: 7' @ 20°C 1 inversion per minute
    Rodinal 1:50 13' @ 20°C 1 inversion per minute
    Negative scan, no processing.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Developer-Comparison.jpg   Rodinal.jpg  
    If you tone it down alot, it almost becomes bearable.

- Walker Evans on using color

Images
    At the risk of bringing the wrath of the rodinal church I will say yep rodinal is pretty ugly.
    Technological society has succeeded in multiplying the opportunities for pleasure, but it has great difficulty in generating joy. Pope Paul VI

So, I think the "greats" were true to their visions, once their visions no longer sucked. Ralph Barker 12/2004

Shooter
    Large Format
    Nicola, Rodinal can be very good under the right circumstances. Not so good on another. YOu got exactly what should be expected. Both negs are sharp and Rodinal is grainier. If you want beautiful gran, Rodinal cant be beat, if you are contact printing and want very nice middle tones, Rodinal once again is excellent.