Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,693   Posts: 1,548,958   Online: 767

Shooter
    Medium Format

Handling and loading infrared film

Hi All,

I've been given some Kodak infrared 5 x 4 sheet film. I've never used IR before and need advice about loading/ handling/ developing. I've got a Jobo drum developer.

I guess one of my main concerns is fogging issues.

Regards

Gerard

Shooter
    Large Format Pan
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I hope you have a 4x5 camera and some sheet film holders to use it with. (I say that mostly because it says you shoot medium format in your profile.)

You will need a changing bag/tent or a darkroom to load the film in film holders. It's important to make sure that your bellows are IR light tight.

When outside with your camera, keep the holders covered from the sun when not shooting. Ideally, you will need a red filter to get the IR effect of dark skies and white leaves/grass. You can use the film without a filter, but I suppose it depends on the effect you are looking for.

For development, see the Massive Development chart at www.digitaltruth.com.
    Diane

Halak 41

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Oh yes!

I've got an underutilised Toyo 45!

The guy who gave me the IR film mentioned using aluminium foil on the bellows. I'm not sure about how 'light tight' it should be.

Thanks,

G

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Kodak IR is sensitive well into the infrared and you can even get by with a 25A filter.
    But you will want to try a 29A and an R72 (89B).

IR filter characteristics are at http://www.a1.nl/phomepag/markerink/irfilter.htm
    and you can get an idea on the different effects of filters at http://www.pauck.de/marco/photo/infr..._of_films.html

I've shot IR through a Wistas, Tachiharas and Speed Graphics with no problem with the bellows leaking IR.

Shooter
    Medium Format