Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,571   Posts: 1,545,577   Online: 1016

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images

B&W developing technical details

Hello Everyone!

I am a newbie to analogue photography and am looking for some advice.

I should like to know if there is a book or books I could obtain on the technical process of B&W developing as I am going to mix my own formulas.

Already have several "cookbooks" with recipes.

I have collected all the chemicals required and the darkroom equipment.

Specifically I would like to learn:

1. What each of the ingredients do the chemical reactions involved.

2. The effects of developing time and agitation on the finished negative.

3. The effect of temperature.

4. Pushing the film.

I realize that experimentation is essential in the learning process and am not asking for advice on the above as such.

Book recommendations would give me a place to start my own learning and a basis for my experiments.

Thanks for you time.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Welcome to APUG. When you say you are going to mix your own formulas, do you mean that you will try to create new formulas? The best place to start is with some tried and proven recipes such as D76. You can then start playing around with the ingredients.

"The Film Developing Cookbook" by Anchell and Troop is a great place to start.

A developer contains a developing agent, accelerators, restrainers, buffers in various combinations. You will eventually develop an understanding of how these all work together.

Developing time, agitation and temperature all increase the amount of development as they increase.

The best place to start is with a simple formula and start making variations from there.

Shooter
    Medium Format