Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,691   Posts: 1,548,928   Online: 798

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Want lots of grain, like in the old days with Kodak 2475?

Hi. I registered many years ago, but really didn't get back into film until this year. Now I shoot all of my B&W with film, and stick with digital only in color, so I'll be around here much more often.

I put myself through university as a freelance photog and darkroom rat, and now I teach photography to classes in my "spare time," whatever that is. I'm a professional musician, teach and conduct a large amateur orchestra, so I'm a busy guy, and being around all of those musicians gives me GREAT subject matter for photography.

One of the questions I'm often asked is how to get more grain in prints. The usual thing is "I miss Kodak 2475 Recording film"

Well, you can search Ebay and get lucky occasionally, but what I'm doing and have been doing is using sub-miniature cameras (specifically the Olympus Pen FT), Tri-X and Rodinal at 1:25. You'll get all the grain you want, and the image will be much sharper than 2475, which was pretty muddy to start with.

You an also use Tri-X and Dektol (straight, 4 minutes), and the grain will be more noticeable but not as sharp.

The Pen half-frame camera is very high quality, readily available, and not that expensive. The lenses are sharp, and with this combination, you should be in Grain City and very happy.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    substitute Fomapan 400 for trix
    use less dilute rodinal
    water stop
    temper to 3F
    golf ball grain...

you may need reflector to soften shadows cause the Foma does not have the dynamic range and you may burn highlights

I use 1+100 60mins stand but still burn

alternatively try Kentmere 400 it does not need the special treatment above.

HP5+ would be too similar to Trix