Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,968   Posts: 1,558,489   Online: 1069

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images

Rodinal and Tmax, or Help me get my process under control!

Last edited by chuck94022; 03-10-2005 at 10:33 AM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images

Rodinal and Tmax, or Help me get my process under control!

Traditionally I've been processing B&W film in my Jobo. I've always had great results, but would like better agitation control. I recently decided to learn to use my simpler Patterson tank. I decided to play with a test roll of TMax 120.

As an engineer I should know better than to have two indepedent variables in my experiment, but, duh, I also decided to try out that new bottle of Rodinal I bought - a developer I've never used before.

So the roll I produced sucked. I had surprisingly, unacceptably high grain and some streaking. I also know I made at least one mistake. I didn't do the initial constant agitation, I went right to the 5 seconds every 30 seconds pattern. That part was just new process-itis on my part, not a preference.

So before I process again, I can think of several potential problems right off the bat:

1. Improper initial agitation.
    2. Poor follow-on agitation technique. I would invert while twisting 90 degress, hoping for more random sloshing, then tap the bottom on the counter several times at the end of agitation.
    3. Inappropriate use of Rodinal with Tmax. Are they compatible?
    4. Inverting rather than using the swizzle stick on the Patterson.
    5. No pre-wet. It did not appear to be called for, so I went without, though I do prewet Tmax with my Jobo.