Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 76,311   Posts: 1,681,874   Online: 783

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Overshooting Film Sensitivity( ASA) of Kodak 5222 B&W stock

Hi,

I am studying in a Film School. We learn cinematography through B&W. We use Kodak 5222 stock. Kodak quotes, 250 as the ASA for that stock. But when we exposed for that rating, it was coming a stop and a half over(In comparison with 11th step mid of a sensitometer strip) in our lab. It implies, it has to be rated more than 500 to get it normal. How this can be possible ? If anyone could help in understanding the problem and solving it, it would be great

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Welcome to APUG!

I would first look at the meter you are using, as well as the metering technique.

Then I would check the shutters and apertures on the cameras.

Then I would check the darkroom thermometer.
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    When I shoot 5222 as still stock, I rate it at 400. I was also finding that rating at 250 and developing at any of the recommended developer/time formulas found anywhere resulted in overly-dense negatives. When I rate it at 400 and develop to the recommendations, I get much better results. They are still very rich negatives, so I could totally see rating it at even 500 and still getting very good results - keep in mind I am just using my uncalibrated eyes, not a sensitometer or anything.

Duncan

Shooter
    35mm