Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,728   Posts: 1,515,216   Online: 946

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Squeegee film?

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Squeegee film?

Hi all. I am new to developing (or actually back after a long-20 yr.-hiatus).

I am having a problem with water spots on my negatives. I am using photo flo. What I want to know is whether I should squeegee my negatives as well, or do I run a risk of scratching them? I simply can't remember what I did the first time around.

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    I have squeegeed my negs for years, however I have just discovered that I can't do this if I use PyroCat HD as my developer. Have no ideal why, but the negs get all messed up. Beyond that no problems.

I always make sure the blades are good and wet prior to applying them to the negs.
    www.ericrose.com
    yourbaddog.com

"civility is not a sign of weakness" JFK

"The Dude abides" - the Dude

Images
    Welcome to APUG.

My method is to run the film through Photo-Flo and then I take piece of Photo-wipe, dip it in the Flo and run that down each side of the film, effectively squeegeeing off the excess liquid from the film surface. The wet photowipe is soft and lint free and since I use a new one each time, it eliminates the chance of film-scratching grit building up on it. Last week, I tried just drying the film without wiping it and was sorry.
    That is called grain. It is supposed to be there.
    =Neal W.=

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Don't do it! Squeegees and film don't get along very well. It is much to easy to scratch your film with one of those medieval torture devices. One little invisible piece of grit is all it takes to get you have a nice long scratch down the entire length of your film.