Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,550   Posts: 1,544,751   Online: 956

Images

Yipes! Tri X 320 in Xtol

I wanted to shoot some green foliage with a red filter so instead of using my usual standard Efke R50, I opted for some TXP 120 that I had lying around, about a year past date but stored in temperate climate.
    I'm a stickler for critical process control and developed it in Xtol 1:1. The negs look fine. Density is great.

Right now I am now printing them and YIPES!, The Grain! An 8x10 from 6x7 neg and it looks 35mm Tri X in Rodinal. I am new to Xtol and haven't done much with TXP 120 but have found the 35mm Tri X that I have done in it to have pretty fine grain.
    The prints look fine but the grain is totally unexpected. Any thoughts?
    That is called grain. It is supposed to be there.
    =Neal W.=

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Sounds like my experience too Neal. When I was using Xtol, I went to 1:3 or full strength. The 1:3 dilution worked well. I have no idea how to technically account for the difference.

If you want to see something really sharp withTri-X, try Xtol 1:3 with 10ml/liter Rodinal thrown in.
    Semper Fi & God Bless America
    My Photography Blog

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Hawley
    If you want to see something really sharp withTri-X, try Xtol 1:3 with 10ml/liter Rodinal thrown in.
    I've actually tried that. It was only one roll so it wasn't really enough to make any concrete judgements from but I'm thinking that if want Xtol with more snap and slightly more pronounced grain, I might as well just go back to Good Ol', out-of the bag, D-76. I've used it on and off for 30 years and I'm beginning to wonder why I've ever bothered to try anything else for general purpose developing.
    That is called grain. It is supposed to be there.
    =Neal W.=

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images