Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,930   Posts: 1,585,313   Online: 1075

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

First time using FB paper...A Question

OK, so I've never used FB paper before, but in the spirit of participating in my first print exchange I wanted to use FB because it seems to be the preference out there. I picked up a box of 25 sheets of Ilford MG IV FB Glossy and it cost me a fortune

I have read the Ilford data sheets on this paper, and I understand how it must be processed.

My question, though, is this: notwithstanding the base of the paper itself, will FB MG IV glossy and RC MG IV glossy react the same way to exposure? Rather than wasting a bunch of expensive sheets of FB paper doing test strips etc, can one do testing on RC and then do final prints on FB with the same result?

Thanks for the help,
    Kent
    Max Power, he's the man who's name you'd love to touch! But you mustn't touch! His name sounds good in your ear, but when you say it, you mustn't fear! 'Cause his name can be said by anyone!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Not final prints. You can work with both and gauge a baseline for starting your FB prints. Fibre isn't terribly expensive (roughly 30% more than RC) and if you start with relativley narrow 2" strips each test shoudln't cost you more than about 15 cents. Biggest factor to remember is that FB has a rather dramatic dry-down.
    The Darkroom Studios ~ Brad Walker
    27 North Centre Street ~ Merchantville, NJ 08109
    856.488.1546 info@thedarkroomstudios.com
    "Film Ain't Dead Yet!"

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Basically I do all my portfolio prints on 10x8 inch RC paper.
    I keep notes on every print I do.

Occasionally I'll pick one of those prints to be re-printed on 12x16 inch fibre paper.