Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,867   Posts: 1,583,270   Online: 1110

Thread: Tri-x in XTOL

Shooter
    Medium Format

Tri-x in XTOL

I have a few rolls of tri-x (400tx) in 35mm, some shot at 200 and some at 400 and intend to develop them in XTOL. I have never used tri-x or XTOL before so I was wondering if you guys have any guide as to starting times for 1:1? The massive dev chart has so many entries which vary widely, so I thought I'd ask here since I trust the advice given here more.

The rolls shot at 200 are street shot in fairly contrasty light and those at 400 in flat light and are candid portraits.

I realise I should do my own tests but thought I'd ask for a ballpark figure since this is a combo I've seen motioned around here before.

Thanks!

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    I used the times in the Film Developing Cookbook and had good results. At 1:1 400 iso, 8.75 minutes. You milage may vary. Btw, I like Xtol at 70 deg's at least. Xtol diluted down gives better acutance but still gives good grain. For 35mm I'd stay at 1:1 or even straight up.

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    P.S. The chart gives 8 minutes at a 200 iso rating. I've never pulled it tho.

Shooter
    Multi Format