Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,924   Posts: 1,522,115   Online: 767

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Film and heat...

I ordered a bulk roll of APX100 from Adorama to be shipped by UPS. Of course the UPS driver leaves the package at my door without obtaining a signature. It just so happens that it is delivered on a 90 degree day. He delivered the package at 12 noon and left it in the shade next to my doorstep. I get home at 7pm and bring the package inside. Surprisingly, the film does not feel hot. I put it in the fridge.

The question is: how would the heat affect this bulk roll?

Back in the day, I used to work as a delivery driver for a pro photo shop. I drove a white van with no AC and no ventilation from Boston to Providence, RI (one hour without traffic) daily. I'd make deliveries along the way. There would be bricks of professional slide film in the back for at least 2 hours at a time. By the time I got to the shop in Providence the film would clearly not be cool any more. No one ever complained about film being fogged or otherwise. How is this any different than a BROWN UPS truck cooking in the sun all day long? I could order bulk film from a local shop, but that would arrive by UPS also. What are your thoughts?

Ara
    Just because you're not paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to get you.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I have no idea about the chemistry involved, but alot depends on how it was packed.

For instance, the airs stored in bubble wrap packaging canact as an insulator, as will styrofoam "peanuts". But for how long they will protect your film from excessive heat would only be a guess.