Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,813   Posts: 1,581,593   Online: 852

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Keeping paper flat BEFORE exposure

I've been doing darkroom printing for just a few months, using VC RC paper (mostly Agfa, but I did try some of Freestyle's Arista.EDU Ultra). I've got an 8x10 paper safe in which I keep most of my paper. Anyhow, I've noticed that when I first remove the paper from the box, it's flat. This is very handy when I want to make borderless prints; I just drop the paper on the borderless easel and that's it. After a few days in the paper safe, though, the paper curls, which means the only way to keep it flat for making a print is to put it in an easel that produces borders. I was just wondering what others' experiences are with this. Should I put a heavy object on the paper in the safe? Put it in the safe only during printing sessions, and keep it in its black plastic bag and box between sessions? Do something else? Thanks for any tips.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    There is a post-it style adhesive you can put in spots on your easel you can use, otherwise a vacuum easel is a good way to control unruly materials under the enlarger.
    Gary Beasley

Shooter
    35mm
    You might try a barely damp sponge applying it to the back side of the print being careful not to dampen the front side. This might remove the curling long enough to make a exposure.
    Claire (Ms Anne Thrope is in the darkroom)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Not being able to afford a vacuum easel the only way round this I found was to use my masking frame. Unfortunately this does produce borders, but it isn't difficult to crop these off.

-----------My Flickr-----------
    Anáil nathrach, ortha bháis is beatha, do chéal déanaimh.

Shooter
    Multi Format