Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,300   Posts: 1,536,000   Online: 1005

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Large Format

Tri-X, Acufine and a Funeral...

I'm going to a funeral this Friday and thought I'd try to make a few semi-formal portraits of friends and family. I suspect that most of the opportunities will be indoors and, out of respect, I am opting for no flash. I've got a fridge full of Tri-x and a couple of un-opened cans of Acufine...so, thought I'd give that combination a go.

Here's the thing. I've never used Acufine before and I don't think I'll get much chance to do any testing before departure so, I'm looking for reassurance that this is a good choice and perhaps some advice with respect to dev times & c.

The label on the can says I can rate Tri-X 400 at EI-1000 and dev for 5 minutes at 70 degrees F. Does that sound reasonable?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    You mean EI 1000 right? Yes Acufine does a good job with Tri-X in my experience from newspaper days. Of course I was apt to push the film to ridiculous EIs in attempts to shoot sports at night with available light.
    Gary Beasley

Shooter
    Large Format
    Quote Originally Posted by glbeas
    You mean EI 1000 right? ...snip...
    Ooops....
    Yes. Of course EI-1000. I've edited the original post. Thanks.

Shooter
    35mm
    Why not shoot the film, put it on ice, shoot a few test rolls (perhaps even in the same location as the formal shots), experiment with the test rolls (or fractions thereof), and then develop the important rolls only when you're satisfied with your test rolls?

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    I rate TX 400 at 800 in Acufine.
    flickr--http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidagoldfarb/
    Photography (not as up to date as the flickr site)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com/photo