Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 74,090   Posts: 1,635,943   Online: 890

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: B&W paper 101

Shooter
    35mm

B&W paper 101

I just purchase my first enlarger and setting up a darkroom. i started to look into papers and chemistry to purchase. the chemistry seemed self-explanitory. but the paper, there are so many choices. for now i just want the basic paper (low cost too) because i'm just going to be playing around with it, learning... What should i look for.

These are just a few choice i can across and i don't know what any of this means: variable contrast fiber based paper, variable contrast resin coated paper, chromogenic b&w, graded fiber, graded resin... which is good for what?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I am also new to the darkroom, I've had mine less then a year. I like the Arista papers at Freestyle, they are very cheap purchased 100 at a time. I just finished off a pack of the Arista RC Pearl Multigrade and it was fine for my purposes, its not museum quality stuff but neither is my work so it does just fine for me.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    There's also Adorama in NYC. They make the least expensive RC paper I've seen. However, you're in CA and the shipping from Freestyle might make that paper the best buy.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I forgot to add, that being a beginner, it's easy to go thru lots of paper while getting the hang of things. Therefore, the cheaper, the better.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Quote Originally Posted by hanaa
    I just purchase my first enlarger and setting up a darkroom. i started to look into papers and chemistry to purchase. the chemistry seemed self-explanitory. but the paper, there are so many choices. for now i just want the basic paper (low cost too) because i'm just going to be playing around with it, learning... What should i look for.