Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,851   Posts: 1,582,857   Online: 844

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

recommendations for 4x5 dev w/rodinal?

I just started playing with my dad's speedgrafic. I'd like to try using rodinal with efke. i'm starting with tray developing small quantities. I read that you shouldn't use an acid stop with this film. so I need suggestions for two things... rodinal & ... what are the options for non acid stop baths?

Thanks! any suggestions would be great!

Dorothy

Ole
    Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I've done lots of films in Rodinal recently - all ISO100 films seem to be fair in Rodinal 1+25 for 10 minutes.

I never use stop bath at all, just water.
    -- Ole Tjugen, Luddite Elitist
    Norway

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hi: you can use water. If you want, use a deeper tray than you use for dev and fix, and agitate the film for a minute or so just as you'd agitate in the dev and fix.
    To be extra safe, you could clamp a hose to the tray and run the water at a low flow rate to get a continual change of water.
    I haven't used acid stop on film since the late '70's, when I read that Judy Dater used a water stop (in "Darkroom" or "Darkroom 2," I forget which.) It's a lot easier on film.
    Which efke? Rodinal is great; so is HC110 in dilutions weaker than dilution B. Welcome to 4X5!!
    dphphoto

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by djkloss
    I just started playing with my dad's speedgrafic. I'd like to try using rodinal with efke. i'm starting with tray developing small quantities. I read that you shouldn't use an acid stop with this film. so I need suggestions for two things... rodinal & ... what are the options for non acid stop baths?

Thanks! any suggestions would be great!

Dorothy