Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,954   Posts: 1,522,788   Online: 960

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

tri-x w/rodinal 1+50: lighter spots?

Hello!

I developed three rolls of tri-x 120-film in my new paterson 1,5 litre tank, with rodinal 1+50 @ 20°C for 13,5 minutes. Agitation the first minute, then four inversions at 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 minutes. Four inversions take 15-20 seconds with this tank.

My problem is that all three rolls have spots that are lighter along one egde. Lighter on the neg, darker on the scans. I'm fairly new with rodinal, and the 1,5 litre tank is even newer, so there might be something I'm missing.

Two rolls were taken with a Mamiya 7 and one with a Mamiya C330, but all show the same spots (or rather patches) so it's not a camera issue. It's not a question of light leaks either, that would of course give _dark_ spots on the neg, light on the scans.

Check this out:

http://www.hform.se/Images/spotex1.jpg

Look along the bottom edge of the negs.

What could be causing this? Dev. exhaution? Insufficient agitation?

Any insight highly appreciated!

*henning
    Last edited by timeUnit; 10-08-2005 at 12:09 PM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: mistype

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    If the little quasi ameboid splotches are what you're referring to.. I see them, but I don't know the cause.

Rodinal is a very powerful developer, and exhaustion fears are unwarranted. Agitation is out, because the density is even, the splotches are specific, and besides, Rodinal will develop evenly with far less agitation than you gave. With its high pH, Rodinal is soapy, and tends to get to the emulsion very effciently, it is pretty much air-bell proof. It shouldn't matter if you poured the developer in, or dropped the reels into a full tank; at least reagrding the splotches.