Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,331   Posts: 1,537,265   Online: 1015

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

marks on negative

I need some advice/help. I'm relatively new at processing MF film (B+W), and on several occasions I find small crescent shaped marks on my negatives when processing is complete. They appear randomly across the whole strip. Could they be caused by something I'm doing while winding the undeveloped film onto the reel? I use Nikkor SS reels and tank. Is there something else going on here? Cheers.

John

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Quote Originally Posted by thebanana
    I need some advice/help. I'm relatively new at processing MF film (B+W), and on several occasions I find small crescent shaped marks on my negatives when processing is complete. They appear randomly across the whole strip. Could they be caused by something I'm doing while winding the undeveloped film onto the reel? I use Nikkor SS reels and tank. Is there something else going on here? Cheers.

John
    Could they be greasy finger prints from handling the film?
    "…Action always generates inspiration. Inspiration seldom generates action."

Frank Tibolt

WWW.DENDRINOS FINE ART.COM

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Any chance of a scan? Is there physical damage at the crescents as in a buckle in the film? Are they light or dark (light suggests physical obstruction, dark suggests a light leak)? Do you get them with commercially processed film (if yes then it is most likely something in the camera rather than the processing).

Cheers, Bob.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images