Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,918   Posts: 1,584,766   Online: 941

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Kodak Hypo Clear - mixing???

I have bought a bag of Kodak Hypo clearing agent.

I have never used this before but I am really stuck on how to mix it up. On the bag it says something about stock solution etc etc.

Am I right in thinking that you mix a concentrated solution and then use this to make a dilute useable solution?

Any help would be very gratefully received.

Many thanks,
    Matt

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    that's what I do, mix a stock solution and then dilute as needed.
    Prints available in the APUG GAllery
    www.gaylarsonphotography.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    WHat is the mix for the stock solution though? - it doesn't seem to say anywhere on the packet.

Thanks,
    Matt

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I think it is two ounces per gallon of water, I put about two ounces in a tray of water. I'm not sure of the exact amount but it works for me. someone else might have a more accurate mixture. I know it's not a lot for a gallon of water though.
    Prints available in the APUG GAllery
    www.gaylarsonphotography.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt5791
    WHat is the mix for the stock solution though? - it doesn't seem to say anywhere on the packet.

Thanks,
    Matt
    Kodak list a 5 gallon size packet of dry chemicals and a 1 gallon size packet.

The 5 gallon packet is apparently intended to produce 5 gallons of concentrated HCA. Each gallon (or fraction thereof) of concentrated HCA is then further diluted 4:1 with water to produce 4 gallons of HCA working solution.