Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,845   Posts: 1,582,692   Online: 1076

Shooter
    Multi Format

A general film recommendation question.

For 4x5 I've been shooting TXP for almost 2 years now, nothing but, initially in x-tol and now in hc-110. Rated and processed between 125 and 1200, depending on the scene, what I'm up too, and the basic necessity to get a faster shutter speed or more dof.

It's literally the only sheet B&W film I've tried...so I want to play with something else and am asking here for suggestions.

I love the pop I get from TXP. I'm not knowledgable on describing film charachterstics, but from how I've shot it, I get deep crunched blacks (which I like) and lots brilliant highlights with good seperation. Mid tones seem neutral. Lovely, but it's anything but what I'd describe as "creamy." (Again, bare with me here, I'm doing the best I can with my limited grasp of film to describe looks I get)

What I'm interested in is finding a film (processed in hc110) that has smoother midtones and creamier whites. Hmmm, I vaguely remember 35mm FP-4 in x-tol being pretty smooth....but I'm in search of a film that will be similar to polaroid type 665/55. I could just shoot 55, I know, but I never cared for dealing with it.

I'll start to test. But thought I'd see what you guys would offer.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    You could give anything a go. FP4 Plus has a very neautral look about it. Should be a fair bit finer grained than TXP but be aware that you are unlikely to get close to ei 125 in anything other than Xtol or DDX. Ei 64 is good in pyrocat HD or ID11, Aculux etc with about 80-100 in Tmax and 100 or so in DDX....as rough ballparks. FP4+ has a more gentle appearance than TriX (tho I have only used the 400 TX in 35mm and 120) in that it lacks the same punchy look, perhaps being a bit more subtle.