Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,690   Posts: 1,548,865   Online: 952

Shooter
    35mm

How do I use Paterson FX-39 for best results with Ilford 400 Professional please ?

Dear All,

I am new to black and white photography, and this combination of developer and film was recomended to me by my next door neighbour. Would this be correct, and if so, would it be possible to know how to use it best please.

Last year I did a short course in black and white photography at the local college, and recently bought a Paterson single spiral developing tank.

I am aware that the ISO can be changed in manual mode on my Nikon F80, and that film can be exposed at lower ISO readings than stated on the film.

My next door neighbour said to ask around for the best combination of ISO, developer concentration, developing temperature and development time, because film companies change their emulsions and that the settings he used may probably be different than now.

I would sincerely appreciate any advice that can be given,

Thanks for reading,

Puretranquility

Shooter
    Large Format

Skip FX-39. How about Ilford DDX?