Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,540   Posts: 1,544,305   Online: 914

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

Diafine and Variable EI

Hi All,

This is my first time posting as I recently returned to film photography and just started B&W shooting for the first time. I have a couple of questions regarding Diafine film developer but first some preamble.

Diafine states that you can increase the EI of the film you are using with results comparable to the manufacturers stated EI (e.g. 160 EI for TMX 100). In addition, development times basically fixed and it allows for multiple rolls of film with difference EI ratings.

The questions are as follows:

Can you use different EI on the same roll without blowing out highlights or losing shadow detail? This is something IIRC you can do with Ilford XP2 Super.

Can you use the manufacturers state EI or are you "stuck" with Diafine's rating?

Thanks in advance for your responses!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Diafine is a divided developer, so you are more or less stuck with the EI that gives you the expsoure. Although Diafine is very forgiving I would do some testing with your equipment to fine tune your rating. I cant comment on XP2.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I think you'll have to try to match what you need for your printing. Diafine states EI 1600 for Tri-X for instance. I don't get enough shadow detail that way, and I like dense negs for printing, so I shoot at EI 800-1000. I tried TMX once in Diafine, and it's a 1.5 or so stop increase over the film's normal sensitivity of EI 50 (in most developers it seems), so it's significant. I didn't quite like the look of it however. Looked better in Rodinal for example.

But if you need a developer to do expansion and / or contraction developing then Diafine is probably your worst choice!

- Thomas