Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,745   Posts: 1,515,653   Online: 756

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

What films work well with HC-110?

I've dug through the folders and have come up with a lot of good information regarding films, developers etc., but usually the question answered is something like "what developer does one use for a particular film...?" I would like to pose this question from the other direction and ask what films work well with HC-110?

I am fairly new to B&W and have only invested so much in materials at this point; I would like to stick with HC-110 for now. If it matters, I am using 120 in a Pentax 645 and a 6X9 Agfa Billy Record and have found Tri-X 320 and 400 to do quite well, but would like to try other films that give good results in HC-110. Thanks in advance for any advice you might offer.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I have not yet done it myself, but the B&W lab that I use when I want to be sure I don't ruin my negatives uses HC-110 on the Acros (EI 50) that I bring them in 120 and 4x5 and the negs are beautiful. I'm not sure which dilution they are using, however. I bought a bottle of HC-110 recently and hope to figure out how to get similar results on my own.
    Benno Jones
    Seattle, WA

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

It is very flexible- start with it.

If you are just starting out, HC-110 will do you fine. It is a thick liquid concetrate that if undiluted, in a cool dim place last a very long time, like many years. Even once slightly briown it still does the job.

The standard starting point for many films is found on the 'massive film development chart' - google it. HC-110, likely at dilution B, will in all likelyhood be one of the develioper listed.