Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,571   Posts: 1,545,515   Online: 1219

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Med. Format RF

Increasing Graded Paper Contrast

I have no experience working with graded paper and need advice on raising print contrast. I am working with an image I wish to display printed on Galerie #3 developed in Dektol 1:2. The test print image is 1/2 or so grade too soft. Do I under expose and over develop to raise contrast?
    RJ

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Jepsen View Post
    I have no experience working with graded paper and need advice on raising print contrast. I am working with an image I wish to display printed on Galerie #3 developed in Dektol 1:2. The test print image is 1/2 or so grade too soft. Do I under expose and over develop to raise contrast?

Maybe you could try a more active developer combined with a longer print development time. Selenium may help some as well, but I figure that you already know about that.

Mike

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    You could also intensify the neg. Kodak Rapid Selenium Toner 1:3 for about 8 minutes should get you about a one zone contrast boost.
    flickr--http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidagoldfarb/
    Photography (not as up to date as the flickr site)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com/photo
    Academic (Slavic and Comparative Literature)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images
    Increasing the contrast of graded paper is very difficult. the easiest thing to do is move to a higher grade and use a water bath.

Sincerely;
    [FONT="Book Antiqua"]Christopher Breitenstein[/FONT]<br>

Http://www.wetlabphotography.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images