Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,294   Posts: 1,535,525   Online: 1034

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

MGFB, how to determine age?

I was just given a box of Ilford Multigrade Warmtone. I've never used this stuff before, and I'm just curious how old it is. Anyway to tell off the box(it's not dated...)? It's a dark burgundy box with what may(?) be a batch code: 64D601C21. I'll find out if it's any good soon enough, but I figured knowing in advance that it was 5, 10, 15(!) years old would give me some insight in the darkroom. Thanks!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I'm bumping this thread to see if anyone has any information but perhaps missed this thread first time round. I've just been defrosting the darkroom fridge and contemplating the future of the Ilford FB Warmtone paper I had in there. I don't mind losing the 5x7, but I'd sure hate to lose the 11x14 if there is a chance it remains OK. It is several years old now and has been in the fridge since bought. It remains sealed in its original packaging (packs of 10 sheets), but I haven't done any printing for maybe 4 or 5 years, whereas the Ilford information sheet on their website suggests a remarkably short 2 year shelf life when properly stored. I'll obviously get round to trying it, but would value others thoughts/experiences meantime.

Thanks, Peter

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Should be a code a letter followed by a 2 digit number, somewhere on the label, this number is the year.

Ian

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images