Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,228   Posts: 1,532,697   Online: 762

Shooter
    35mm

pushing with Caffenol C

Just wondering if it's possible to do a 2 or 3 stop push using Caffenol C (with Tri-X) - it looks like an interesting developer, and some searching seems to indicate there is a slight push with it.

However, I can't find any info one way or the other on deliberate pushing, so any info is appreciated (times, good/bad sample results, etc).

(I'm new to b/w developing, so I apologize if this is a stupid question - I also searched for pushing info with staining developers generally, but didn't come up with much.)

Thanks!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I'd be surprised if you got any push from Caffenol devs based on my admittedly limited experience. My first attempt with Era 100 & basic caffenol was underexposed & underdeveloped, although done according to instructions. Based on the results I did a second roll rated at 25, added 25% extra each of the coffee & washing soda & developed for 30% more time. Results were excellent, well exposed & developed with good tonal range.
    However this indicates to me that Caffenol is a speed reducing developer. I know that adding ascorbic acid is meant to boost speed, but I heard it's only about 1 stop. So I reckon you'd be lucky to get box speed, let alone a push. Still, I look forward to hearing from those with more experience.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    If memory serves, Donald Qualls was talking about it increasing speed in some of his tests. I believe that he was specifically using it with AGFA Copex, though.

I don't believe it was deliberate, but check for his posts on it to find out.