Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,733   Posts: 1,515,319   Online: 885

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

Pyrocat HD development question

Hi folks!

I'm experimenting a little with Pyrocat hd and 8x10 tri-x and 4x5 tmax 100. I can't seem to locate a "starting point" for developing times listed in the massive development chart. I would like to use a jobo cpe2 for the 4x5 and maybe for the 8x10 in a print drum as well but I am willing to use trays for 8x10 as volume will be much less for me than for 4x5 will be. I tend to use the "expose for the shadows" and reduce development approach. Any ideas on some starting times to try? I am inexperienced and "self taught" so any advice helps me immensely and is appreciated!

One more question please, If I tray develop the 8x10 and use a water stop bath as recommended (tf-4 is the fixer), do I just agitate it a while in the water tray or do I really need running water which I don't have in my makeshift darkroom/spare bedroom. Any easy solutions?

Thanks much for any advice!

Erik

Shooter
    Medium Format
    There are several articles on Pyrocat HD on http://www.unblinkingeye.com/Articles/articles.html. Look under articles and there are a couple written by Sandy King, who "invented" Pyrocat in the first place. There are also a few article on Pyrocat HD by other authors.
    Apart from this there is also the possibility to search this site, lfphoto.info and photo.net for info on this particular developer. (What was the name again... :-) If you include Tri-X and/or TMX in the search field, you will narrow down the hits somewhat.
    And no, as I havn't used Pyrocat for Kodak films I havn't got any good starting points.