Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,299   Posts: 1,535,743   Online: 801

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Does selenium toner really die THIS quickly???

Hi all,

Although I have been printing B/W images for a few years now, I have only recently begun to explore the possibilities of toning. I have succesfully done several sepia tonings, and recently (a few months ago) decided to buy some selenium toner (Amaloco T-60) to test it.

With sepia toning, it is quite obvious when the toner get's exhausted, with increased toning times simply judged by the very visible color change.

Now with selenium toning, things aren't so obvious...

Some papers and dilutions, simply have almost no visible changes at all, made even more difficult if for example split sepia / selenium toning is applied. After the image has been partially sepia toned (removed quickly from bleach to leave metallic silver), a change in the selenium toning bath may not visible at all. Of course, in this case you're only left with the archival effect of the selenium toning (which is actually the main reason I wanted to selenium tone...).

So how do you people judge if your selenium tonings have been successful, and if the toning bath is still active???

This has been bothering me recently and to do some kind of test, I recently tried the following:
    - Made some test strips by cutting down a not yet toned print and marked them with 1,2,5 and 8 for toning times in minutes.
    - Dumped them in a selenium bath (1:15 dilution of stock Amaloco T-60) that I had used before and took them out of it at the designated marked times.
    - Rinsed
    - Now, to test if the selenium toner was still active, I subsequently dumped the test strips in some fresh sepia toner bleach. Much to my shock :o , even the 8 min test strip bleached away almost completely!!!