Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,933   Posts: 1,522,234   Online: 1037

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

Is this real or a reflection?

Hi folks,

Had the chance to try out my new homemade 8x10 field camera today. Please ignore the lousy shot and help me understand if this shot is a fluke reflection or am I really blind and can't see that part of my camera is in the picture I honestly don't think I could have missed such a blatant error or did I?
    I'm rather new at this and don't know if this is to be expected sometimes. The lens used was a 210 g claron and I had a large amount of back rise applied. Did I really miss this on the ground glass or is it some sort of reflection? It is translucent and makes me think it is a reflection, if not, can I avoid it?

Again, please don't hurt my ego by acknowledging what a poor shot it was
    Any advice is appreciated!
    Erik
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1663417601_2f77648de6_o.jpg  

Maybe try focusing using the rear standard

Images
    Make sure there is not a pinhole somewhere on the camera's front panel. I cannot imagine any other way the bed could be in focus.
    Gadget Gainer

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Thanks guys,
    I never thought about a pinhole being the cause of this error. It did only show up with the 210mm (twice). Shots with the 300mm and 19 inch of the same scene were fine. Maybe my homemade lensboard is faulty. I'll get the flashlight out and check.
    Thanks again!
    Erik

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    I also think it looks like a pinhole. It's obviously something like a double exposure because the bed doesn't obscure the scene, and the rail (which is obviously very close) is in reasonable focus.