Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,570   Posts: 1,545,494   Online: 1209

Shooter
    35mm

Question about commercial lab b/w enlargement

I've been fooling around with cameras for 40 years, but don't have a clue about developing or printing. So, please forgive this question if it is kind of dumb.

If a lab only charges $5.50 to make an 8x12 enlargement from a 35mm neg, can I assume that they have digitized the negative and then do an inkjet print? Nobody would be able to sell an enlargement that big if it was done on real b/w photo paper, would they? The lab is Dwaynes Photo.

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Probably digitised and then printed on colour paper for that price. Unlikely to be an inkjet

Shooter
    Multi Format
    It may also be on the Portra b/w paper. This was a paper that you could print a "b/w" image on and run it thru color chemistry. I believe Kodak axed this paper along with the rest of the line +- 2 years ago. Dwaynes may still have some of it left, tho'. Call and ask?

Shooter
    35mm
    Thanks. I would call and ask, they have excellent customer service, but are not exactly forthcoming about revealing how they do stuff.

Shooter
    4x5 Format

$$$

Quote Originally Posted by wolfee View Post
    Thanks. I would call and ask, they have excellent customer service, but are not exactly forthcoming about revealing how they do stuff.
    What part of "not exactly forthcoming" equals excellent customer service? How much further will Dwaynes Photo lower the bar?
    "A certain amount of contempt for the material employed to express an idea is indispensable to the purest realization of this idea." Man Ray

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images