Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,727   Posts: 1,515,205   Online: 990

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Substitute for Ansco 130

I've been mixing and using Ansco 130 for a few years and love it for its "look" and keeping qualities as a paper developer. But the combined cost of Glycin and shipping to Australia is getting prohibitive. Can anyone suggest an alternative?

I prefer to mix my own developers rather than buying proprietary products.

Thanks in advance

Lyn

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Ethol's LPD is a fairly long-lasting dev, but I don't know if you can find it there. However, you should be able to find Dektol; lasts fairly well and should be much cheaper than glycin.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Dektol won't give you the Ansco 130 look. It also doesn't last nearly as long as 130. Look around and see if you can find the Ilford Warmtone pre-mixed liquid. I know it's a proprietary developer, but it is relatively economical, and if the Ilford importer in Australia brings it in, it should be readily available.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Nothing is really like Ansco 130, unfortunately.

Perhaps ordering larger quantities of glycin and mixing up larger quantities of stock solution (which keep for a very long time) will be your answer. I've also read that many people have had good luck freezing glycin, although I personally have not tried this. Supposedly the powder will keep years when frozen.
    Jim MacKenzie - Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

A bunch of Nikons; Feds, Zorkis and a Kiev; Pentax 67-II (inherited from my deceased father-in-law); Bronica SQ-A; and a nice Shen Hao 4x5 field camera with 3 decent lenses that needs to be taken outside more. Oh, and as of mid-2012, one of those bodies we don't talk about here.

Favourite film: do I need to pick only one?

Shooter