Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,840   Posts: 1,582,476   Online: 821

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Should I Make the Move to Graded Fiber Paper?

Hi everyone,

I need some advice. I have been doing darkroom work extensively for about 8 months.

I used mostly Ilford and Agfa (my favorite!) resin coated variable contrast papers. I was really pleased with the results. However, I just tried a sample of old (prob 20 years +) agfa grade 3 fiber paper. I was stunned with the results.

I found that the gradation between shadows and highlights to be absolutely lovely. I my eye, they seem better than using multicontrast papers/filters. I found that the hightlights are more difficult to block (in a condenser enlarger) too.

First, is my perception pretty common, or am I completely crazy?

Second, is this lovely tonal range due to the fact that the paper is graded or that it is fiber?

I will definitely make the move to fiber and/or graded papers, but what sould I look for? Will multicontrast fiber paper give me these results or I should go for graded?

I would also have impressions on fiber papers, I don't like glossy finish, I prefer semi-matt. But since a lot of graded fb papers seem to be glossy, I am wondering is the glossy finish is the same as resin-coated ones.

Going back in the darkroom,

Thanks for your answers to this bunch of newbie interrogations,

Kris

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    It's both because it's fiber and because it's graded, and probably you've got a good stash of an older paper like Brovira.