Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,678   Posts: 1,482,151   Online: 1081

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Old AGFA paper, still usable?

Picked up some old paper today. Being a total noob when it comes to printing, i wonder if this old paper (prob from the 60's or 70's) can still be usable? Most boxes hasn't been opened. And is the paper any good?

Here's a list of what I received:

agfa brovira bn2a 3 1/2 x 5 box of 25
    agfa brovira bn2a 5 x 7 box of 25
    agfa brovira bn2a 7 x 9 1/2 box of 10
    agfa brovira bs2a 4 1/8 x 5 7/8 box of 100
    agfa brovira bs2a 5 x 7 box of 100
    agfa brovira bs2a 5 x 7 box of 25
    agfa brovira bs2a 5 x 7 box of 25
    agfa brovira bs2a 7 1/8 x 9 1/2 box of 100
    agfa brovira bh2a 3 1/2 x 5 box of 100
    agfa brovira bh2a 4 1/8 x 5 7/8 box of 25
    agfa brovira bh2a 5 x 7 box of 25
    agfa brovira bw2a 4 1/8 x 5 7/8 box of 100
    agfa brovira bw2a 5 x 7 box of 25
    agfa brovira bw2a 7 1/8 x 9 1/2 box of 100
    agfa brovira bn112 9 1/2 x 12 box of 10
    agfa brovira bn1 3 1/2 x 5 box of 100
    agfa brovira bs112 7 1/8 x 9 1/2 box of 10
    agfa brovira bs112 9 1/2 x 12 box of 10
    agfa brovira beh1 5 x 7 box of 25
    agfa record rapid rrs1 5 x 7 box of 100

ilford ilfospeed medium 180 pearl 5x7 box of 25
    ilford ilfospeed medium 180 pearl 7x9 1/2 box of 25

Ole
    Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    That's treasure.

Most of them will still work, but some of them will require a slight addition of KBr to the developer to work as they were intended to.

Sometimes I've used very old Ilfospeed G3 instead of preflashing the paper when I need less contrast in the highlights, it seems that the only thing that happens to this paper with age is a loss of highlight contrast.
    -- Ole Tjugen, Luddite Elitist
    Norway

Shooter
    Multi Format