Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,302   Posts: 1,536,181   Online: 666

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I'm reposting this as a new thread as it was a whole different topic from the cold light question.

Please forgive my ignorance, but what is the relative expected lifetime of black and white RC, FB, colour papers (there are diferent types) and digital prints (again there are different types)?
    I have B+W prints made on RC paper back when I was at university (almost 30 years ago) that still look good, and have spent much of their lifetime displayed on walls, though not in direct sunlight.

Frank
    My blog / photo website: http://frankfoto.jimdo.com/

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Well, I'm not an expert on archival permanence but over the years I have noticed a thing or two. Some years ago I was asked to copy a family photo dating back to around 1917: fibre based and still looking good.

Forty-year-old colour pics show serious fading and the negs are totally without any image.

According to Kodak their famous Kodachrome will last at least fifty years.

For me that's enough to know that B&W rules supreme.

Hans

lee
    Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images