Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,677   Posts: 1,482,021   Online: 870

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm

engineer's POV on film development

Hi,

I am an engineer by day, a wannabe film developer by night.

I bought "The film developing cookbook" and looked up dev times for delta 400 in ID-11.

From the book:

delta 400@400ISO, 20c, small tank:

id-11 stock 7 mins
    id-11 1+1 10.5 mins

From Ilford's data sheet (same conditions):

id-11 stock 9.5 mins
    id-11 1+1 14 mins

????????????????

Also, still from Ilford's delta 400 sheet:

CHOOSING THE BEST ILFORD
    DEVELOPER FOR THE JOB

Maximum sharpness (powder) ID-11 (1+3)

When you go and look for dev times, IN THE SAME SHEET, for delta 400 with ID-11 at 1+3...UNLISTED!

Either I'm missing the obvious, or this is a very large WTF situation...
    Last edited by pierods; 04-21-2008 at 05:03 AM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: typos

Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Images
    Yep, you need to test all this stuff yourself, water is a variable, temperature is a variable, exposure is a variable, development method is a variable, agitation is a variable...on and on.....EC

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    The times are an estimate (suggestions) you can't take them and make an absolute. There are many variables even the same film and dev combo in two different cameras will give slightly different results.
    Try to do a test, it could be that to get the required result you need to rate the film lower or move dev times up/down slightly from the suggested.
    The suggested info will give ballpark Ok results.
    Mark

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images