Switch to English Language Passer en langue franÁaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,914   Posts: 1,556,277   Online: 810

Page 1 of 13 123456711 ... LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

SURVEY: Edwal 12 Users' Experience

Here is an invitation to folks who have had success using Edwal 12 to share their experience here.

Itís a developer I was introduced to by an old timer when I was a very young photographer. For 40 years, Iíve used it as a limited, but special, tool in the darkroom.

But. There is a fog of hearsay, recycled gossip, and magical thinking that discourages photographers who might benefit from it's use to avoid it.

So, please post with tales of your success with Edwal 12, your technique, its limitations, and how you modify the basic formula.

WHAT isnít really necessary is to quote recycled legend about the stuff. If you havenít used it, give us a chance.

Gracias.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    DF,
    Why don't you go first? I've never used it, but am interested in knowing why I might want to.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I had rotten luck with it. In fact, I had rotten luck with three devs I made with PPD; Edwal 12, one of the Sease formulas and 777. I kept getting burned-out highlights no matter how little I agitated or how much I cut back on the time. Eventually, I gave up on PPD. Some folks swear by the stuff, but I couldn't seem to get it to work.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    PPD developers went out of fashion as emulsions changed, and more stable formulae appeared for commercial use based on PPD & Meritol (Meto/Pyrocatechin) instead of Glycin, or like Crawley's FX-10 and Calbe's A49 (Atomal replacement) use Hydroquinone and CD2 or similar colour developing agent.

Ian

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by jim appleyard View Post