Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,917   Posts: 1,521,927   Online: 1101

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

A 'basic' which developer to use question?

I've been developing my own 120 film for about 5 months now and from the start I have been using Ilford chemicals ie. ID11/Perceptol, Iflostop, Hypam and wetting agent to develop my Delta400asa and FP4+ films.
    After reading that alot of people on here rate Rodinal developer I thought I'd give it a shot and to my untrained eye the only difference I can see is that the grain is alot more prominent with the Rodinal. Thats ok, no problem if I'm using 400asa film but if I want fine grain then what should I do? Go back to using Perceptol/ID11? Or maybe try another developer?

I guess my question is how did you decide on your current favourite developer? Was it trial and error or did someone you know recommend one for you?

Thanks
    Mike

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    My favorite developer was originally Kodak HC-110. I recently made the switch to Ilford HC instead, in order to give my support to Ilford and take it away from Kodak. With the exception of TXP320 in sheet sizes and 220 size, Portra 100T, 400NC sheet sizes, and RA enlarging paper, I already used all Ilford and Fuji products anyhow. Portra 100T is GONE, and I have switched to HP5 for sheet film. I still use TXP320 when I want a black and white 220 film, and I still use 400NC for when I want a 400 color film in sheet sizes. And I will use Endura paper until it is discontinued, as I like it so much better than Fuji paper.