Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,011   Posts: 1,524,669   Online: 824

Shooter
    35mm Pan

problems with TRI-X 320 developing

Hi!
    I'm new user of Kodak TRI-X 320. All 4 films that I have developed so far are a little bit dim and the mask is not grey, it is a little bit pink/violet. It is not a big problem, but I do not like it. I have used ID-11 (1:1). Did anybody has similar problems? thanks in advance for help

Shooter
    Large Format
    I'm not an expert on this, but I've seen the magenta cast on all of the Kodak films I've developed. The way I get rid of it is by fixing it longer than the recommended time. A thought occurred to me: I wonder if Selenium toner would remove it as well. Hmmm...

--Gary

Fresh rapid fix or TF4.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Some may remain even after fixing but should be gone after hypo clearing and good wash.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Yup, this is my main film and it does sound like a fixer issue. I use all my fixer one shot but at one time I would reuse my fixer it would do this near the end of it's life. If you are using fresh fixer such as Ilfords Rapid Fix....fix for at least 4 minutes.

Shooter
    35mm Pan
    I suspected that it could be fixing problems so I used fresh Rapid Fixer last time, fixing time cca 15 min, but the problem still exist. I developed both TRI-X 320 and Across 100 in the same chemistry, Across negative is beautifully clear, TRI-X is a little bit dim...

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I'd love to tally up the photographer-hours spent extirpating this non-problem. But Ron of course has it right, as far as it goes.

15 min with rapid fixer is WAAAAY too long. If your 320TXP is "dim", there must be another reason. Exposure? Development?
    Michael Sebastian
    Website | Blog

Shooter
    35mm