Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,011   Posts: 1,524,684   Online: 745

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Med. Format Pan

aerial film used for regular picture taking

Does anyone know if there is any differences in using B&W aerial film versus regular film for picture taking.I' considering purchasing a roll of aerial film,cutting it down and re-spooling it for use in my Kodak autographic 3A.

Thanks

Doug

Images
    Good Evening, Doug,

I have no experience with aerial film, but I know that there are some threads here on APUG which have discussed the topic. A Forum Search should yield some useful information.

Konical

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Some of them are higher in contrast to compensate for haze when looking down from high altitude. Some have more UV absorber in them to compensate for UV at high altitudes and some have enhanced UV sensitivity. It depends. I have lost track of all of the differences.

Some are identical to the roll film versions. The required differences were compensated for either with filters or by changes to the process.

None should be used as sheet film, as they are on thin support and can buckle in film holders.

PE

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    hi doug

there is a guy called mr foto1
    who sells spools of aerial film

http://mrfoto1.com/bargains/
    there is information regarding the
    pan and plus x film he sells.
    it has a thinner base than cut sheet or roll film
    and amd as PE said it is formulated a bit differently
    than standard films.

i bought some from this fellow a few years ago, and enjoy using it.

john

Shooter
    Large Format
    We should hear from Mr. Galli on this subject too. It seems like he cuts and shoots this stuff fairly regularly.

Shooter
    Large Format